Admin

SPARC

SPARC

School Programs for Acceleration and Recovery Credit

Blended credit recovery and credit advancement classes provide high school students with access to small group, independent, and teacher-led instruction with online vendor content in a school-based computer lab. Students work at their own pace to complete course requirements and earn credit.

As defined by COMAR, a “blended course” means one in which less than 80% of the instruction is conducted online. Thus, the nature of BCPS implementation ensures that a minimum of 20% of the instruction is delivered in a face to face format. However, as Blueprint 2.0 outlines, BCPS strives to ensure a learner-centered, personalized, blended environment powered by digital learning and interactive curriculum access that is flexible anytime and anywhere. The power of a personalized blended learning environment is in leveraging the technology to design and deliver instruction to meet the needs of each individual student. While some students may be successful with the MSDE 80/20 model, the role of the teacher is to determine the level of face to face support each student needs in order to meet with success. Some students may require more that 20% support from their teacher.

Please contact your school counselor or Ms. Cairns in room 2142 ccairns@bcps.org

Staff in SPARC:

Cynthia Cairns: Science, Health, CRD, and Music: ccairns@bcps.org

Jeff Starr: Math:  jstarr@bcps.org

Kevin Maccallini: Social Studies A-day : kmaccallini@bcps.org

Jeremy Fryer; Social Studies B-day: jfryer@bcps.org

Rachel Debusk: English A-day: edebusk@bcps.org

Tana King: English B-day: tking2@bcps.org